Walsh-Drucker-Cooper Trio

Saturday, July 6, 8:00pm

Advance Tickets: $30 general / $25 members / $10 students
Tickets at the Door: $35 general / $30 members / $10 students

WDC Trio

Diane Walsh, piano, Eugene Drucker,  Violin, Roberta Cooper, cello

The trio’s  program of works by Mozart, Prokofiev and Mendelssohn will showcase the acoustics of the hall through three entirely different soundscapes, ranging from the clarity, lyricism and wit of the Mozart to the brooding, mysterious atmosphere of the Prokofiev, culminating in the passionate Romanticism of the Mendelssohn.

Trio in C major, K. 548                W. A. Mozart

Andante cantabile

Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Op. 80 Sergei Prokofiev

Andante assai
Allegro brusco


Trio No. 2 in C minor, Op. 66.      Felix Mendelssohn

Allegro energico e con fuoco
Andante espressivo
Scherzo. Molto Allegro quasi Presto
Finale. Allegro appassionato

The Mozart Trio in C major sparkles with life and is full of good humor, marked with occasional wistfulness. Prokofiev’s First Sonata for violin and piano, written in the Soviet Union during the years of Stalin’s reign of terror, is a powerful work that exhibits energy and defiance and as well as haunting lyricism and moments of repose. The beloved C minor trio of Mendelssohn contains the composer’s hallmark qualities of instrumental brilliance, soaring melodies and a magical atmosphere in the trio’s scherzo movement.